My Mixed Race Hair Journey- Why I let my mum cut my hair

Hi guys, I am back with another hair update. If you have read my previous posts you will know that I am currently wearing wigs and trying to make my natural hair thicker and longer. When I was younger I made the mistake of using too many different products and using hair straighteners too often. I am on a mission to get my hair back to how it was when I was younger but also longer than previously.

I recently went to visit my mum and she had brought me a lovely new wig, picture below. I love this wig as its how I would love for my natural hair to look like, but have a long way to go before it will be this length if ever. Before she put it on my new wig for me as I was off to a wedding reception, she cornrowed my own hair so it would be nice and neat under the wig. Whilst doing this she noticed that the ends of my hair where different lengths and very thin.

wp-1473923548428.jpg

Since then I have been going back to my mum’s house every Sunday to have my hair re-plaited as I find it easier to manage with my wig. On my second visit after a had been given my new wig, my mum suggested cutting the ends of hair off as she rightly pointed out there was no point keeping them. Now to be honest I didn’t expect her to cut off as much as she did but, I know it will eventually grow back. I miss having the length but as you will see from a previous picture the ends where just see-through. It was a shock at first when I realised how much shorter it was ( my mum plaited it straight after cutting so I only realised when I went to wash my hair a week later) but I know it’s for the best. My friend has commented that it looks thicker already now that I have had it cut and when I run my hands through it, it does feel thicker.

Now that my hair is in cornrows I find it easier to apply hair products in particular the castor oil which I got free at the Afro Hair & Beauty live event I attend you can find out what else I got in my previous post. I have read many articles that’s say state that castor oil can help thicken and grow your hair, I try to apply this at least every other day.

wp-1467928586110.jpg

I am still using the other products that I talked about previously, but just not as often due to my hair style. I will be back soon with another update on the progress of my hair. If you have any questions or suggestions please let me know in the comments. I am considering in taking

Leave a comment